living in australia

Other topics - beer-related or not.

living in australia

Postby munkey » Saturday Mar 26, 2005 9:10 pm

i want to move to australia and study when i graduate, its the reasen i bookmarked this forum as well as uk ones,

iv got some like government figures for liveing costs per year and they recan its cheeper to live out there than the uk,

do you guys from oz agree?? i spend around 6,500 pounds thats about 16,000 oz dollers per year on rent, bills and food.
this is for a 2 bedroom house, electric, gas, and 2 peoples food,
this dosent include homebrew gear,...... phew i wouldent like to add that one up. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

any comments and advice will be greatly appreciated, im pissing in the dark hear boys,
munkey

Postby Shaun » Saturday Mar 26, 2005 10:14 pm

munkey I have no personal experience in this area. I know two people however who have lived in England and OZ (one an Aunty one a mate 6 months each) and both believe OZ is cheaper. From personal experience I have visited/stayed/lived in every state and territory in OZ and Vic is the best place to be. Forget Sydney and the harbour bridge it is the most expressive city to live in OZ. Go Melbourne has everything all the other cities think they have and is affordable. When the rest of OZ is asked what don't you like about Melbourne the ONLY thing they say is the weather (we can have four seasons in one day).

I would be happy to welcome a fallow brewer to our shores even if he is a whingeing pom :lol: .
Shaun

Postby gregb » Sunday Mar 27, 2005 5:42 am

Munkey,

May be helpful: http://www.immi.gov.au/settle/index.htm

Greg.
gregb

Postby r.magnay » Sunday Mar 27, 2005 7:33 am

No Shaun, you are not quite right when you say the only thing wrong with Mebourne is the weather, the biggest problem is that it is full of bloody Victorians!!!!!
Ross
r.magnay

Postby goatsby » Sunday Mar 27, 2005 9:35 am

Well It depends where you want to live the city or the bush