Beginner with Questions.

Other topics - beer-related or not.

Beginner with Questions.

Postby Woot » Wednesday Sep 19, 2012 10:58 am

Hey guys Im new to brewing and have a few questions Regarding Bottling.

Are the Plastic PET Bottles Very good? I have had one person tell me not to use them because they will explode and i have another person telling me they are good because they trap all the sedement in the bottom grooves. personally I would rather have Plastic bottles explode on me than glass ones. but i am hoping Exploding bottles is not something i will experience often . Also I would rather poor a mate a beer from a glass bottle. I think pouring a drink from a plastic bottle would take a bit of the thrill away from it all.

Another question is. If i was to buy cartons of beer in Longneck Bottles specifically for the Crown Seal bottles , which brands of beer would i need to buy to get crown seal topped Longneck bottles?
Woot

Re: Beginner with Questions.

Postby bullfrog » Wednesday Sep 19, 2012 11:29 am

Plastic bottles are good. Not only will they not pose a risk of death if you accidentally over-carbonate a batch, but they're good for testing whether the beer is carbonated because you can squeeze them (if they're hard then they're carb'ed.)

As for glass bottles, I've always been partial to the Coopers longnecks. They're twist-top but my bench-capper handles those like a champ.
bullfrog

Postby warra48 » Wednesday Sep 19, 2012 11:40 am

Yeah, what bullfrog said ! Coopers longnecks are the ducks nuts when it comes to longnecks, there are none better.
Exploding bottles are not caused by the materials they're made from. PET or glass makes no difference.
Just look at soft drinks, they're in PET bottles mostly, and they're carbonated higher than beer. None of them explode!

The major causes of exploding bottles are: