Hop Techniques

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

Hop Techniques

Postby Skreza » Tuesday Mar 10, 2015 1:56 pm

Hi All!

So I am still fairly new to homebrewing however I now have a few brews under my belt and so far so good! I'm loving the brewing process and of course the final product!!

I am a big fan of Earle's Stone and Wood recipe http://homebrewandbeer.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=10660

I am thinking of trying some different hop techniques to see what difference it has on the final product and how it effects flavour, aroma and bitterness.

So I am just wondering what techniques have you tried, which gave you the best results, what do you recommend, thoughts, opinions, etc, etc...

These suggested hop techniques/schedules are all using Galaxy [13.8%] just for simplicity of explanation and were calculated by BeerSmith.
Also note they are all around the 19 IBU mark and all done in a 4L extract boil with around 500G LDME.

1. Earle's hop schedule
10.00 g Galaxy [13.80 %] - Boil 20.0 min Hop 9.6 IBUs
15.00 g Galaxy [13.80 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 8.6 IBUs
20.00 g Galaxy [13.80 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 0.0 IBUs
Total IBUs = 18.2

2. Partial Steep schedule
20.00 g Galaxy [13.80 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 20.0 min Hop 9.6 IBUs
Total IBUs = 19.2

3. Entire Steep schedule
40.00 g Galaxy [13.80 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 20.0 min Hop 19.1 IBUs
Total IBUs = 19.1

4. Earle's hop schedule with a Cooled Hop Stand
15.00 g Galaxy [13.80 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 8.6 IBUs
Cool wort to around 60-64°C and steep for 20 mins. This should greatly reduce any IBUs imparted into the Wort and stop any loss of Myrcene which Galaxy is fairly high in.
20.00 g Galaxy [13.80 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 20.0 min Hop 0.0 IBUs
Total IBUs = 18.2

Appreciate any feedback!
Steve.
Last edited by Skreza on Wednesday Mar 11, 2015 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Skreza

Re: Hop Techniques