Where does all my hop aroma (and flavour) go?

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

Where does all my hop aroma (and flavour) go?

Postby mike_hifi » Thursday May 26, 2011 7:52 pm

Folks,

I have been brewing for about 15 years now but am having dire problems of late making beers that have decent hop aroma and flavour. I put bulk amounts of hops in and it smells overpowering when in the fermenter. When I taste it after a week, it is bursting with hop flavour but by week 4 it has all gone and I'm left with a malty mush that has very little character other than a residual soapy bitterness. I have entered beers in comps previously and done quite well but have recently received comments about lack of hop profile in events such as the QABC. As an example, below is recipe for an ESB clone that I've done recently. Was great at first but just had one now, at about 4 weeks, and all that lovely Challenger flavour has gone.

Boil Ingredients (12l)
5g Gypsum (I'm on rainwater)
200g Caramunich
100g Victory

500g LDME
100g LLWE
1500g LLME

10g Norther Brewer 60 min
25g Challenger 60 min
15g Fuggles 45 min
30g Challenger 15 min
30g EKG 5 min

Flameout
1000g LDME
750g Demarera Sugar
11l of bottled chilled water

Windsor yeast @ 20 deg (temp controlled)

Dry Hop
30g EKG at rack, after 4 days

The problems seems worse with Brit ales - APA's turn out a bit better, but then the hops are more pronounced to begin with.

I use Starsan for bottles and all other equipment as I cannot trust my tankwater for rinsing.

Help! I love hoppy beers but just cannot seem to make my love stay :(
I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like half of you less than half as well as you deserve - Bilbo
mike_hifi

Re: Where does all my hop aroma (and flavour) go?

Postby Tipsy » Friday May 27, 2011 8:12 am

You're not filtering?
Tipsy