Brown sugar

. . . and alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages other than beer and spirits. Post discussion on recipes, methods, equipment and the like about these drinks here.

Brown sugar

Postby SvenTheBererk » Thursday Feb 21, 2008 3:06 pm

Hey all just wanted to see if you think it would be wise to leave out the brown sugar or not,its my first attempt at cider.
And also its been fermenting now for about 2days.
Also how do i edit my username its ment to be "SvenTheBerserk"
Thanks all.
HARD APPLE HONEY CIDER

16 LITRES: "JUICE STOP" APPLE JUICE

2 LITRES: "BERRI AUSTRALIAN FRESH" APPLE+STRAWBERRY JUICE

2 KILLO'S: HONEY (FROM "TIP TOP")

1 PACKET: CHAMPANE YEAST

2 KILLO'S: BROWN SUGAR

Glass Carboy fermenter 5 gallon
Cleaned everything poured 14ltrs juice into carboy.

Heated 2ltrs juice with honey 2kg until honey dissolved
then let it cool to correct temp for yeast and added yeast
then added the mix to carboy after letting it sit for about 15min.

Wrapped carboy with electric blanket holding temp at about 26-28c

Forgot to add brown sugar so might dissolve it with some heated juice
and add to settling bucket before bottling.
Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."
SvenTheBererk

Re: Brown sugar

Postby drsmurto » Thursday Feb 21, 2008 3:13 pm

Leave out the sugar, apple juice has an SG of 1.046-48 and will ferment down with he champagne yeast to 1.000 giving you an ABV of >6%. The sugar will give you rocket fuel and will undoubtedly taste as such.
drsmurto

Postby KEG » Thursday Feb 21, 2008 4:26 pm

best to add the yeast to the carboy rather than the syrup you made, for best rehydration.
KEG

Postby SvenTheBererk » Thursday Feb 21, 2008 6:09 pm

Thanks for advice i feel more confident now
Here's how it looks so far http://hippyval.gallery.netspace.net.au/album02
Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."
SvenTheBererk

Postby earle » Friday Feb 22, 2008 1:32 pm