Pressure pack sanitizer plus other ideas

Other topics - beer-related or not.

Pressure pack sanitizer plus other ideas

Postby wick » Tuesday Dec 23, 2008 11:59 pm

Well Im new to brewing but Ive come up with a few ideas which for me makes the job easier,I dont now if they are new ideas if not I guess it doesnt matter so here goes,for sanitising bottles use a new pump up poison sprayer with the spray tube modified and mounted on a stand to stand about 30 cm high, put bottle over tube and spray nozzle, and squeeze trigger.cost about $10.00 I used an old cake rack for a stand and put it on top of a plastic tub to catch used liguid, it may be necessary to make the spray nozzle smaller to fit into some bottles.
When bottling I use a flexible plastic tube between the tap and the filler tube which allows me to leave all the bottles in a crate on the floor and move the filler tube between bottles.
To allow me to keep my brew cooled on hot days,I use flexible tube between lid and bubbler which allows me to put a small tub on top of fermenter filled with water and a towel working like a coolgardie safe.
If any experienced brewers can see any problems with these methods I would like to hear from them please.
:idea: :idea: :idea:
wick

Re: Pressure pack sanitizer plus other ideas

Postby Bizier » Wednesday Dec 24, 2008 10:38 am

My crappy spray bottle is about to give up the ghost if I don't have chronic RSI first. I might go the small pressure pump as a replacement, that is a great idea.
Bizier

Postby Wags » Wednesday Dec 24, 2008 10:47 am

wick wrote:When bottling I use a flexible plastic tube between the tap and the filler tube which allows me to leave all the bottles in a crate on the floor and move the filler tube between bottles.

Awesome idea! I'll be doing that next time, will make bottling twice as fun :wink:
Wags

Postby Smabb » Monday Dec 29, 2008 4:57 pm