First Home Brew - slow fermentation - advice pleas

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

First Home Brew - slow fermentation - advice pleas

Postby sly » Monday Apr 23, 2012 12:48 am

Hi all,

Being a complete newbie to home brew, I'd appreciate any advice from someone who knows better.

Since pitching my first brew, a can of "Australian Draught" supplied with my home brew starter kit, the weather has cooled substantially. The air temperature has been around 16-18 degrees for the first week of fermentation. There wasn't any activity in the airlock for the first 2-3 days, when I realised I hadn't tightened the fermeter lid (d'oh).

After tightening, saw a bubble approx 1 every 10 seconds or so. This rate continued for a couple of days, and since then has stopped completely. I started taking hydrometer readings to see how everything was going.

After one week, sample tasted quite nice, a bit like a shandy. SG was 1.014. Now it's been two weeks, SG seems stable at about 1.007 - 1.008. Still smells sweet but with a strong presence of alcohol. Also tastes funny, tangy, a bit bitter / sour, not something I'd like to drink. The colour looks like a murky orange, almost brown. Also I've noticed the last sample is a lot less fizzy than the earlier ones.

So my questions:

Is it infected - what would infected beer taste like?
What should the beer taste like at this stage?
Is it fully fermented / ready to bottle - or has fermentation stuck & I need to add more yeast, etc. From what I've read and SG of 1.008 is too high.
I might not be able to get to botting until the next weekend - will it be ok to leave in the fermenter for another 6-7 days?
Any tips on the best/easiest way to wash / sanitise recycled bottles?

Being my first attempt I really don't know what to expect, so I'm willing to take any advice on board!
sly