Hey Y'all

General homebrew discussion, tips and help on kit and malt extract brewing, and talk about equipment. Queries on sourcing supplies and equipment should go in The Store.

Hey Y'all

Postby BennyBrew » Sunday Mar 27, 2011 4:18 pm

hey,

I am new to experimenting with homebrew, the last batch i brewed was about 6 years ago, and straght out of the can, since then it has just been about still washes.

Since i moved from melbourne to sydney i have decided to get back into homebrew again, this time adding some flavour to it.

I have my first batch on at the moment, the ingrediants are......

Morgans Blue Mountain Lager
Light grain infusion pack
Hersbrucker Finishing Hops
500g Dextrose 250g Maltodextrin 250g Malt Extract - this is the brew shops mix #15 brew booster
and the standard larger yeast from the can

will be interesting to see how this turns out, but would love ideas for the next brew.

Cheers
Ben
BennyBrew

Re: Hey Y'all

Postby timmy » Monday Mar 28, 2011 5:47 pm

Hey Ben,

Sounds like a nice brew. There are a load of 'tried and true' recipes around here, so it would depend on your preferences. Since it's starting to get cool again (and you're already brewing a lager), you might like to try this recipe:
viewtopic.php?t=7991

Cheers,

Tim
timmy

Postby Sonny » Monday Mar 28, 2011 9:11 pm

Hi Benny, I'm a new brewer too. No. 28 fermenting now and 27 on the rack.
What I've learn't so far is that too much ingredients is not good. That's not too many but too much amounts in a kit brew is just too much volume.
Also my taste has changed. I did like strong and malty, then I favored the hoppy beers and now, well I just dunno.
I like it all, but some more than others.

I still want to perfect my Black as I like Tooheys Old, and finally I am getting closer with my new rule of amounts.

I'm still addicted after about 6mths of brewing and there seems no end in sight.